Facebook Photo Privacy – What you need to know!


Facebook is the biggest Social Media tool around.  People from all over the world use it to meet, connect and keep friends updated to what is going on in there lives.  But with all this sharing of information, it is necessary to know how people can access.  This situation got a little trickier recently with Facebook’s new photo viewer.  Previously people were able to view your photos, but not download or print them for themselves.  This was a nice little safeguard to keep people from stealing the pictures off your page.  Now, however there are a bunch of new rules in place that users need to be aware of.  Here is a quick list of some of the new features.

  • The name of the album and who created it is located under the photo on the left side.
  • You can “Like” a photo or leave a comment under it.
  • You can tag, share, download, or report the photo.
  • You can look through the photos in an album by either clicking on the photo or using the forward and backward arrows.
  • When you’re finished looking at photos, click the white X located in the upper right corner of the photo viewer.

What this means is basically if someone can see your photos, they can print them.  This may be a little bit of a scary thought, but let’s take a collective sigh of relief for a second.  You might in fact have to change the way you post pictures online, but for the most part you should be OK.  You just will need to be a little more prudent in handling pictures.  Before you hit UPLOAD on the screen, think about who might see it and want to keep a copy.

There are some precautions you can take.  Luckily Facebook has extensive privacy settings that can assist you in feeling comfortable about who you can and cannot see your photos.  Below are the comprehensive instructions for controlling these settings.

Photos You Post

  1. Go to “Account” in the upper right corner of Facebook then “Privacy Settings”.
  2. Click on “Customize Settings” in blue in the middle of the page.
  3. Beside “Posts by me” under “Things I share” click on the drop down menu where you can choose from Everyone, Friends and Networks, Friends of Friends, Friends Only, and Customize.
  4. If you don’t like any of the other options, click on Customize where you can choose to whom to make photos visible and/or who to hide them from.

Photos You Are Tagged In

  1. Go to “Account” in the upper right corner of Facebook then “Privacy Settings”.
  2. Click on “Customize Settings” in blue in the middle of the page.
  3. Beside “Photos and videos I’m tagged in” under “Things others share” click on the drop down menu where you can choose from Everyone, Friends and Networks, Friends of Friends, Friends Only, and Customize.
  4. If you don’t like any of the other options, click on Customize where you can choose to whom to make photos visible and/or who to hide them from.

 

Your Albums

  1. Click on the album and under the photos click “Edit Album Info”.
  2. From there you can click on the drop down beside “Privacy” under “Edit Info”.
  3. Choose from Everyone, Friends of Friends, Friends Only, and Customize.
  4. If you don’t like any of the other options, click on Customize where you can choose to whom to make photos visible and/or who to hide them from.

 

Hope everyone found this useful.  Just beware of what you put on facebook!!

Facebook is the biggest Social Media tool around.  People from all over the world use it to meet, connect and keep friends updated to what is going on in there lives.  But with all this sharing of information, it is necessary to know how people can access.  This situation got a little trickier recently with Facebook’s new photo viewer.  Previously people were able to view your photos, but not download or print them for themselves.  This was a nice little safeguard to keep people from stealing the pictures off your page.  Now, however there are a bunch of new rules in place that users need to be aware of.  Here is a quick list of some of the new features.

  • The name of the album and who created it is located under the photo on the left side.
  • You can “Like” a photo or leave a comment under it.
  • You can tag, share, download, or report the photo.
  • You can look through the photos in an album by either clicking on the photo or using the forward and backward arrows.
  • When you’re finished looking at photos, click the white X located in the upper right corner of the photo viewer.

What this means is basically if someone can see your photos, they can print them.  This may be a little bit of a scary thought, but let’s take a collective sigh of relief for a second.  You might in fact have to change the way you post pictures online, but for the most part you should be OK.  You just will need to be a little more prudent in handling pictures.  Before you hit UPLOAD on the screen, think about who might see it and want to keep a copy.

There are some precautions you can take.  Luckily Facebook has extensive privacy settings that can assist you in feeling comfortable about who you can and cannot see your photos.  Below are the comprehensive instructions for controlling these settings.

Photos You Post

  1. Go to “Account” in the upper right corner of Facebook then “Privacy Settings”.
  2. Click on “Customize Settings” in blue in the middle of the page.
  3. Beside “Posts by me” under “Things I share” click on the drop down menu where you can choose from Everyone, Friends and Networks, Friends of Friends, Friends Only, and Customize.
  4. If you don’t like any of the other options, click on Customize where you can choose to whom to make photos visible and/or who to hide them from.

Photos You Are Tagged In

  1. Go to “Account” in the upper right corner of Facebook then “Privacy Settings”.
  2. Click on “Customize Settings” in blue in the middle of the page.
  3. Beside “Photos and videos I’m tagged in” under “Things others share” click on the drop down menu where you can choose from Everyone, Friends and Networks, Friends of Friends, Friends Only, and Customize.
  4. If you don’t like any of the other options, click on Customize where you can choose to whom to make photos visible and/or who to hide them from.

 

Your Albums

  1. Click on the album and under the photos click “Edit Album Info”.
  2. From there you can click on the drop down beside “Privacy” under “Edit Info”.
  3. Choose from Everyone, Friends of Friends, Friends Only, and Customize.
  4. If you don’t like any of the other options, click on Customize where you can choose to whom to make photos visible and/or who to hide them from.

 

Hope everyone found this useful.  Just beware of what you put on facebook!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: